2017 SRAI Election Results

by cmkiel@ucdavis.edu on Thursday, September 21, 2017

Each year, SRA International holds elections for positions on the Board of Directors, a comprehensive group of our members who devote time and effort throughout the year to enhance the organization through the service of governance. In accordance with the Bylaws of the Society Article 5.35, the notification process of the candidates for the position of President-Elect, Treasurer and two At-Large members for the Board of Directors has been completed.

It is my pleasure to officially announce the election results. Kim C. Carter has been elected to the position of President-Elect, Gloria Greene and Susan Wyatt Sedwick were elected as Members At-Large and Rene Hearns was elected for a second term as Treasurer. Below please review the brief bio sketches for Kim, Gloria, Susan and Rene, and please join me in congratulating them. I look forward to working with them and all of you who actively give of your personal time in the variety of activities that make SRA International such a great organization.

I would also like to express my sincere thanks to the Nominations committee and its Chair, John Westensee, for their hard work.

Board of Directors meetings are open to all members, and if you would like to attend, there are two opportunities to do so during the Annual Meeting in Vancouver in the Gallery Boardroom of the PanPacific Hotel. The dates and times are as follows: Saturday, October 14, from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM and Wednesday, October 18, from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM.

I look forward to seeing you at the Annual Meeting in Vancouver!

Cindy Kiel, SRAI President 

The SRAI membership has elected the following candidates:


Kim C. Carter, MPA, CRA, CPRA, CFRA
Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Projects Administration & Associate Director, University of Kentucky Research Foundation | University of Kentucky

Kim’s research administration experience has been gathered at research intensive universities and primarily undergraduate institutions. She is currently the Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Projects Administration at the University of Kentucky & Associate Director, University of Kentucky Research Foundation. She leads there the research administration operations and provides overall direction and management to sponsored programs staff across campus. Kim was previously Director of Office of Sponsored Programs at The Ohio State University and held positions in both pre- and post- award at the University of Pittsburgh and Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

At-Large Board Members

Gloria Greene, MA, CRA

Gloria is the Director, Office of Sponsored Programs at The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH). Gloria has 20+ years of sponsored research administration experience. Gloria became the Director, Office of Sponsored Programs May 2004. Prior to this, she was the Associate Director (2001-2004) and a Senior Contract Administrator (1995-2001). Prior to coming to UAH, Gloria was a Warranted Contracting Officer with the U.S. Army, Ft. Wainwright, AK. Gloria is a Certified Research Administrator (CRA). Gloria is the Immediate Past President of SRAI Southern Section (2017), Co-founder and Past President of the Alabama/Mississippi Chapter and SRAI Committee Member of: Education and Professional Development Committee (EPDC); Catalyst; EPDC-Educational Programming (PROG); Leadership Working Group; Membership Committee and Research Ethics & Compliance Working Group. 

Susan Wyatt Sedwick

Dr. Susan Wyatt Sedwick is a senior consultant for Attain, LLC with over 23 years of experience in research administration. She retired in 2015 as an associate vice president for research and director of the Office of Sponsored Projects at The University of Texas at Austin, where she was responsible for both pre‐ and post‐award financial administration units with oversight of over $630 million in annual sponsored projects expenditures. Prior to her tenure at UT Austin, she served in a similar capacity at the University of Oklahoma, Norman, where she also had responsibility for research compliance. She received her PhD in Higher Education Administration from Texas A&M University and is a Certified Research Administrator (CRA). Her previous academic appointments include serving as a clinical professor in the Department of Educational Administration for the Higher Education Administration Program at The University of Texas at Austin and as an adjunct professor for Rush University in Chicago and The University of Oklahoma, Norman. Dr. Sedwick is a frequent speaker on the topic of research data security, export controls as they apply to universities, human capital development and strategic planning.

Treasurer | Rene Hearns

Rene has been very involved with the Society of Research Administrators International since joining in 2002. The SRA membership elected her to three presidencies (Ohio Chapter, Midwest Section, Allegheny Chapter), treasurer of the Midwest Section, secretary of the Northeast Section and an At-Large member of the Board of Directors. These elected positions are in addition to being appointed chair or member of various SRA committees and presenting more than 50 workshops and/or sessions at SRA annual, section and chapter meetings.


Tagged with: