Blog Viewer

Welcome our new 2022 Section Officers

By SRAI News posted 05-12-2022 12:51 PM


Welcome our new 2022 Section Officers

SRAI would like to congratulate our newly elected Section Officers as they start their new terms. Join us as we recognize our volunteers.

Canadian Section

Ann Fong

Congratulations to Ann Fong who has recently been elected as Secretary/Treasurer for a two-year term in the Canadian Section 2022 elections. Ann is the Director, Research Services Office, TRIUMF, Canada’s particle accelerator centre which is located in Vancouver, British Columbia. As a member of the Section Executive Team, Ann is making a valued contribution to developing the Section 2022/2023 slate of activities which will be announced shortly. 

Thank you, Ann, for your leadership in the Canadian Section and SRAI. 

Terry Campbell
Canadian Section President

International Section 

Fikria El Kabouakibi
VCUarts Qatar 

We are delighted to announce that Fikria El Kaouakibi, MRA, has been elected to be the next President of the International section.  Fikria is Assistant Director of Research at Virginia Commonwealth University in Qatar.

Fikria has a Master's Degree in research administration from Johns Hopkins University.  She is a regular member of NCURA, SRAI, and EARMA and was most recently a key member of the organising committee for the VICRA conference held in March 2022 working with the current President, Floris Van Der Leest. 

Lorna Colquhoun
International Section Immediate Past President 

Midwest Section

Melissa Karby
University of Michigan

 Donelle Goerlitz
University of Michigan

The Midwest Section is pleased to introduce our in-coming officers, Melissa Karby as President-Elect and Donelle Goerlitz as Treasurer. Melissa serves as the Associate Director for Research Administration at the University of Michigan, Office of the Vice President for Research, and recently served as President for the Michigan Chapter. Donelle is a Research Administrator with the University of Michigan, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, and has previously served on the planning committee for Michigan Chapter conferences. We are excited about these incoming leaders and the role they will plan to shape the future of the Midwest Section. 

We also want to thank our officers departing us this year for their hard work, dedication, and leadership.  Ruth Halsey, Immediate Past-President and Melissa (Mel) Mingler, Treasurer.    

Ruth Halsey
Midwest Section Immediate Past President

Northeast Section

Megan Evansky
University of Pittsburgh

Ellen Libao
Johns Hopkins University 

Hello Northeast Section Members,

As Immediate Past President of the Northeast Section, I would like to welcome Ms. Megan Evansky as the Northeast Section President-Elect and Ms. Ellen Libao as the Northeast Section Secretary. As President-Elect, Megan will serve a one-year term as President-Elect then assume the position of President at the close of the 2023 Section Meeting. Ellen will be returning as the Secretary where she will serve her second two-year term.

Volunteers are an integral part of the success of the Northeast Section and as President-Elect and Secretary, Megan and Ellen will work closely with the Northeast Executive Committee to plan our next exciting Section Meeting to be held in Louisville, KY. 

Please join me in welcoming them as the newest members of the Northeast Executive Committee. 

Debbie Pettitt
Immediate Past President

Southern Section

Kimberly Read
University of South Florida

Anthony Edmondson
The University of Alabama in Huntsville

Welcome and congratulations to President-Elect, Kimberly Read, University of South Florida, and Secretary, Anthony Edmondson, The University of Alabama in Huntsville. 

As the Southern Section Past President, I want to thank you for your dedication and support of SRAI. It takes a collective effort to make a Society like ours viable. Without volunteers such as yourself, we would not exist. 

I look forward to working with you. Cheers!! 

Gloria W. Greene, MA, CRA
Southern Section, Past President

Western Section

Grace Liu 
University of California, Davis

Debbie Hoelscher
Washington State University, Spokane

 The Western Section welcomes our new and returning officers!  

Congratulations are extended to Grace Liu, our new President-Elect, as André Watkins transitions into the President position.  And thank you to Debbie Hoelshcer, who returns as our Treasurer.  

Grace Liu is the Co-Associate Director, Sponsored Programs at University of California, Davis.  Debbie Hoelscher is the Manager, Contracts and Grants in the Elson S Floyd College of Medicine at Washington State University.  We want to thank them for volunteering their time and for their commitment to SRA International Western Section! 

Cindy Shirley
Immediate Past President