Blog Viewer

2022 SRAI Award Winners

By SRAI News posted 09-08-2022 11:45 AM


2022 SRAI Award Winners

Being recognized by your peers is a great honor. Let’s come together to celebrate this year’s SRAI award winners! SRAI acknowledges individuals who inspire others and serve as models for the profession of research administration. The Awards Committee was excited to consider so many worthy nominees this year and the winners are truly top of their field. Click here to read more about this year’s winners and what this honor means to them. Please plan to join us in Las Vegas at the 2022 Annual Meeting and cheer loudly for these distinguished research administrators! 

The Herbert B. Chermside Award for Distinguished Contribution to Research Administration

This award is named after an SRAI member who first joined only two years after the Society was formed and then spent the rest of his career working towards the advancement of the profession of research administration. He was known as a mentor to many, and a dedicated research administrator to all. 

Rebecca D. Claycamp, Independent Research Administration Consultant 

Hartford-Nicholsen Award

Established to recognize SRAI members whose services demonstrate leadership in the Society, and who have made a major, distinguishable contribution which has been of benefit to the entire Society. Until 1973, this award was entitled the Distinguished Service Award and is still rooted in the critical importance of SRAI as a group of volunteers. Individuals who are nominated for this award have contributed their professional expertise to the Society in an important and fundamental way. 

This year’s recipients are:

Karen Bone, Senior Award Administrator, Florida Atlantic University

Bill Hoffman, Research Administrator, University of Maryland, Baltimore Dental School

Kevin Titus, Business Director, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital 

Excellence Award

This award was established in 1977, in honor of the Society’s 10th anniversary. It recognizes up to three SRAI members who have excelled in meeting the Society’s purpose of expanding the knowledge and tools of research administration. Winners are selected as no more than one each from the categories of: newcomer (less than 5 years), mid-career (5-10 years), or advanced professional (more than 10 years). 

This year’s recipients of the Advanced Professional category are:

Nathan L. Vanderford, Associate Professor, University of Kentucky

Jennifer E. Woodward, PhD, Vice Chancellor for Sponsored Programs and Research Operations and Professor of Surgery and Immunology, University of Pittsburgh 

The Technology Innovation and Application Award

Established in 2010, this award, open to an individual or a team, showcases and recognizes innovations and applications in using technology in promoting, processing, or advancing research administration operations. Regardless of the media, innovations significantly move an office forward using the technologies that best reflect the goals proposed. 

This year’s recipients are:

Carla DeMarco, Academic Communications & Outreach Manager, Office of the Vice-Principal, Academic & Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga

Jamil Ur Rahman, Khalifa University of Science and Technology 

John Robinson Travel Award

The John Robinson Travel Award was established in 2012 to support speakers in their early career to further their professional development. The award is given each year and supports travel arrangements for speakers accepted to present at the SRAI Annual Meeting. Through this award, SRAI acknowledges an endowment from John Robinson to honor his contributions to the Society by encouraging active participation of current SRAI members in the conference agenda. 

This year’s recipient is:

Boniconsilli Tusiime, Grants Officer, Makerere University College of Health Sciences 

Annual Meeting Scholarship

The Annual Meeting Scholarship was established in 2016 and given for the first time the same year. Through different initiatives by SRAI, AmazonSmile, #GivingTuesday and donations by members, the Annual Meeting Scholarships will allow two (2) recipients to benefit from leading edge education and networking opportunities offered at the Annual Meeting each year. 

This year’s recipients are:

Safar Akhtar, Assistant Manager, The Aga Khan University

Grace Fransisca, Post-Award Research Administrator, University of California, Los Angeles 

Congratulations to all our winners! Join us in Las Vegas at the 2022 Annual Meeting as we honor this year’s awardees.

Authored by Cynthia Morin, Senior Administrative and Business Manager
Johns Hopkins University