Blog Viewer

Honor Your Peers and Colleagues & Nominate them for the 2020 SRAI Awards

By SRAI News posted 05-14-2020 09:05 AM


Honor Your Peers and Colleagues & Nominate them for the 2020 SRAI Awards

SRAI Awards are a great way to acknowledge and honor individual Research Managers and Research Administrators for their remarkable contributions to the research management & administration profession and to the Society. You don’t need to think hard to find peers in your network who does an outstanding job and who you admire; so how about nominating them for an award? Deadline: Monday, May 18.

The Herbert B. Chermside Award

The Chermside Award was named in honor of Herbert B. Chermside, who passed away in June 2006. The award is given in recognition of the recipient’s activities and contributions that have had a direct and positive impact on the profession of research administration to showcase and celebrate distinguished contributions in the development of research administration as a profession. The nominee does not need to be an SRA International member but must have been involved in research administration for at least 15 years. 

Hartford-Nicholsen Award

Named in honor of the Society’s first two presidents, Ken Hartford and Richard Nicholsen, the Hartford-Nicholsen Award was established to recognize SRA International members whose services over the years have benefited the entire society. The award is given to SRA members whose services demonstrate leadership in the Society, and who have made a major, distinguishable contribution which has been of benefit to the entire Society. Until 1973, this award was entitled the Distinguished Service Award and is still rooted in the critical importance of SRA International as a group of volunteers. Individuals who are nominated for this award have contributed their professional expertise to the Society in an important and fundamental way. 

Excellence Award

This award was established in 1977, in honor of the Society's 10th anniversary. Recognizes up to three SRA members who have excelled in meeting the Society's purpose of expanding the knowledge and tools of research administration as a newcomer (less than 5 years), mid-career (5 – 10 years) or advanced professional (more than 10 years). 

The Technology Innovation and Application Award

Established in 2010, this award, is open to an individual or a team, showcases and recognizes innovations and applications in using technology in promoting, processing or advancing research administration operations. Regardless of the media, innovations significantly move an office forward using the technologies that best reflect the goals proposed. The nominee may be an individual or team.

The Partnership Award

Established in 2010, this award honors and recognizes those instrumental in building a partnership across institutions, national, or international borders. Nominee(s) demonstrates leadership and cooperation in overcoming barriers to work together as equal partners and in ways that serve as a model for collaborating with others toward shared and commonly held goals in research administration.

See more at