Awards & Scholarships

About the Awards & Scholarships

SRAI Awards & Scholarships offer individuals a number of opportunities to be acknowledged and honored for their remarkable contributions to the research administration & management profession and to the Society.

Awards & Scholarships Banner

SRAI Awards

  • The Herbert B. Chermside Award for Distinguished Contribution to Research Administration
  • Hartford-Nicholsen Award
  • Excellence Award
  • The Technology Innovation and Application Award
  • The Partnership Award for International or Inter-collegiate Collaboration
  • John Robinson Travel Award (only available for Annual Meeting confirmed speakers)

View SRAI Award Categories

Journal of Research Administration Recognition

The Rod Rose award was established in 1973. The award is presented annually to the author of the article judged by the Editorial Review Board as the most outstanding contribution to that year's volume of the SRA International Journal of Research Administration.

In 2017, the JRA added one more award recognition Most Valuable Editor (MVE) award. The award recognizes Editorial Board members of the JRA.

Rod Rose Award Past Recipients

2018 - Using Competencies to Transform Clinical Research Job Classifications

  • Rebecca Namenek
  • Brouwer, Christine
  • Deeter, Deborah
  • Hannah, Terry
  • Ainsworth, Catherine
  • Mullen, Betsy
  • Hames, Heather
  • Gaudaur, Tara
  • McKellar, Denise C.
  • Snyder Duke University

2017 - The Roles of Chief Research Officers at American Research Universities: A Current Profile and Challenges for the Future

  • Kelvin K. Droegemeier, University of Oklahoma
  • Lori Anderson Snyder, University of Oklahoma
  • Deeter, Deborah
  • Alicia Knoedler
  • William Taylor
  • Brett Litwiller
  • Howard Gobstein
  • Gaudaur, Tara
  • Christine Keller
  • Teri Lyn Hinds
  • Nathalie Dwyer

2016 - How Do I Review Thee? Let Me Count the Ways: A Comparison of Research Grant Proposal Review Criteria Across US Federal Funding Agencies

  • Holly Falk-Krzesinski, PhD, Northwestern University/Global Academic Relations
  • Stacey Tobin, PhD, The Tobin Touch, Inc.

2015 - Into the Looking Glass: Psychological Contracts in Research Administration

  • Melanie Hicks, PhD, The University of Tampa
  • Jorge Monroy-Paz, The University of Tampa.

2014 - Networks of Neuroscientists: Professional Interactions within an Interdisciplinary Brain Research Institute

  • Jenny Godley, University of Calgary
  • Keith Sharkey, University of Calgary
  • Samuel Weiss, University of Calgary

2013 - In Remembrance There Is Prevention: A Brief Review of the Failure to Protect Human Subjects in Tuskegee, Nuremberg, Guatemala, and Nigeria JRA, Volume XLIII, 2012

  • Cameron Nelson, Loyola University Chicago

2012 - Academic Excellence: A Commentary and Reflections on the Inherent Value of Peer Review JRA, Volume XLII, 2011

  • Jennifer Shambrook, PhD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
  • Thomas Roberts, Florida Gulf Coast University

2011 - Developing and Managing University-Industry Research Collaborations through a Process Methodology/Industrial Sector Approaches JRA, Volume XLI, 2010

  • Simon P. Philbin, PhD, MBA, Imperial College London

2010 - Teaching and Assessing the Responsible Conduct of Research: A Delphi ConsensusPanel ReportJRA, Volume XL, 2009

  • James M. DuBois, Saint Louis University
  • Jeffrey M. Dueker, Saint Louis University

2009 - Laboratory Management Institute: A Model for the Professional Development of Scientists JRA, Volume XXXXIX, 2009

  • John C. Galland, University of California, Davis
  • Jade R. McCutcheon, University of California
  • Lynne U. Chronister, University of Washington

2008 - Implementing Ethics Policies in Developing Countries: Ploughing On Parched Ground? JRA, Volume XXXVIII, 2007 

  • Isaac N. Mazonde, University of Botswana
  • Jose Jackson- Malete, University of Botswana
  • Jeremy Sugarman, Johns Hopkins University

2007: Thomas J. Roberts

2006: David Perlman

2005: Robert E. Porter

2004: Carl N. Drummond

2003: Pamela A. Krauser

2002: Jerry Fife and Robert Forrester

1999: Anne Sterner

1998: James E. Lewis


  • Ira S. Goodman
  • Kammy Cabral
  • Gwynne Nemcek
  • Therese Powers

1995: Irene Johston Petrick and William S. Kirby

1994: John B. Richey

1992: James S. Fairweather

1991: Peggy S. Lowry and Celia S. Walker

1990: Charmaine Judy Streharsky

1989: Barbara C. Hansen and Kenneth D. Hansen

1988: L.B. Cebik


  • Michael R. Dingerson
  • Sonja E. Eveslage
  • Clifford L. Shisler

1986: Mark R. Edwards and J. Ruth Sproull

1985: Richard L. Mooney

1984: Bonnie Jean McKenzie

1983: Roger G. Ditzel

1982: Howard L. Smith and Waneta C. Tuttle

1981: Robert Z. Gussin

1980: Wilfred S. Martin

1979: Richard A. Sessions and Tom Collins

1978: Bruce Darling and Leonard Redecke

1977: E.J. Shoben, Jr. and J. William Smith

1976: Winford E. Holland and William J. Kretlow

1975: Jack M. Miles

1974: Robert A. Collins and John L. Yeager

1973: Robin J. Pardini

Most Valuable Editor Award Past Recipients

2018: Tim Linker

2017: Amy Cuhel-Schuckers, Deborah B. Derrick and Carson Harrod

Education and Professional Development Committee Recognition

The Best Concurrent Session award was established in 1996 and the Best Webinar in 2017. The Best Concurrent Session award honors the best concurrent session held at the SRAI Annual Meeting from the previous year. Award winners are based on session evaluations and thus reflect "the people's choice." The first Best Concurrent award was presented in 1997 for the best concurrent session given at the 1996 SRAI Annual Meeting.

Best Concurrent Session & Best Webinar Awards Past Recipients

2017: Angela Behrend - Best Concurrent Session; Jason Guilbeault 

2016: Kevin Titus - Best Concurrent Session; M. Fran Stephens - Best Webinar

2015: William Helmrath and Chad Restrick

2014: Minessa Konecky and Eleanor Greene

2013: Cindy Kiel

2012: Stephen Murphy

2011: David King and Mathew Hawthorne

2010: Scott Boots

2009: Cindy Kiel and Eileen Morgan

2008: Dwight Ball, Chris Wilson and Karen Wilson

2007: Edward F. Gabriele

2006: Sheila Vrana

2005: Cindy Kiel

2001: Edward F. Gabriele

2000: Edward F. Gabriele

1998: Frederick Blue and Bob Geiger

1996: Michael McCallister


How do I find an award or scholarship? 

Click on the individual award links above to read the criteria.

What are the deadlines to apply?

Upcoming deadlines for both scholarships and awards are listed on each one of the awards/scholarship pages

The deadline for nomination submissions for most award/scholarships is the in the first half of the year, annually. Scholarship application due dates vary depending on the event (Section or Annual Meeting).

How do I nominate someone for an award or how can I apply for a scholarship?

Please visit each one of the award/scholarship pages for detailed instructions before starting your nomination. Information and tips for nominators are included there.

When is the presentation of awards?

All SRAI Awards are presented at the Annual Meeting held each fall. Recipients are honored with a ceremony and presentation of Awards by the Awards Committee Chair and the Society President.

Section Awards and scholarships are presented at the combined Section meetings in the Spring during the Tuesdays business meetings. 


Please visit each specific award or scholarship page for more deadlines, requirements and past recipients. For further questions, please contact Dilyana Williams.